Seagulls hit by injury blow

Tim ChannonClub News, First Team

COLWYN BAY have suffered a major blow ahead of the opening Vanarama Conference North fixture at Solihull Moors, with Portuguese winger Paulo Mendes ruled out for at least three weeks with a broken foot.
X-rays have revealed a hairline fracture, suffered in the win over Bala Town last week, and the 20-year-old has had the foot put in a special boot.
“He is going to be a big miss on the left hand side, but he is a naturally fit lad and hopefully he will heal fairly quickly,” reflected manager Frank Sinclair.
The Seagulls must also go into the first game without Senegal midfielder Moustapha Saeil, whose international clearance has still not come through, but fingers are crossed that former Hednesford striker Aaron Rey’s clearance, after he signed on Tuesday, will come through in time for him to be involved.
Despite a week of setbacks, including a shock 5-0 defeat at Warrington in their final warm-up game on Tuesday, Sinclair remains positive and added: “We will be going to Solihull looking for a win.
“I still believe in the players and believe we have increased the ability of the squad.
“We weren’t at the races the other night, although you have to give Warrington credit for the way they played.
“Maybe it was a blessing in disguise because we had had three very comfortable wins prior to that and this will have brought everyone back to earth.
“We trained hard on Thursday and I got off my chest what I needed to say – now I am looking for a big response from the players.”
The 42-year-old boss, who has included himself in a 16-man squad, has also drafted in 17-year-old reserve team midfielder Adam Hodgeson for today’s game and commented: “He has been training with us pre-season and has done well.”
Solihull, who finished in the top eight last season, go into the game undefeated in six pre-season games, including a 4-1 win over Vanarama Conference side Alfreton.
Colwyn Bay (from) Ollerenshaw, Olapade, Moss, Bemba-Leta, Clarke, Noone, Buckley, Onoruo, Hopley, Williams, Parker, Haywood, Hodgeson, Rey, Sinclair, Clark.